Microsoft Surface October 2019 event live blog: the latest Surface releases live from New York


The Microsoft event in October 2019 starts today and we expect Redmond to present their latest and best surface hardware. According to rumors, we will introduce the Surface Pro 7, the Surface Laptop 3 and a completely new product. & # 39; Centaurus & # 39; at the event.

We will attend the Microsoft event in New York in October 2019 and bring you the latest news, reviews and opinions in this live blog.

The event itself will start on the 2nd of October 10:00 EDT / 7:00 PDT / 15:00 BST or 12:00 AEST Thursday, 3 OctoberRead our guide to follow the October 2019 Microsoft event for more information.

And make sure you're constantly updating this live blog as we'll be updating it throughout the day ahead of the event in October 2019 – and throughout.

Microsoft Surface October 2019 event live blog

All times in Eastern Daylight Time

11:12 – The keyboard seals the device magnetically. "It's very powerful what this device can do if it adapts to what you want to use it for."

11:11 – It has a magnetically attached pen that charges automatically. That's nice. It's definitely a good-looking device and it's been a year since its release. "It's a dream to use this device," says Panay, always the master of understatement.

(Credit: Microsoft)

11:09 – "Nothing like that," says Panay. Maybe, but remember that this has not come out in over a year – there may be a lot of such devices by the end of 2020 …

11.08 – Surface Neo FACTS: Dual-screen device that can stretch images across both screens. Provides a 360-degree rotation, a revolving top cover with display parts that react with the Touch Bar-like function and orientate like a tablet on the positioning of the cameras.

11:07 – "That's Surface Neo". An Intel-based device, if the video is something to watch. It is definitely a dual-screen device. Folds in half, but there is a hinge between the screens – so it's not just a long foldable screen like the Galaxy Fold (thank goodness (.

11.06 – It gets a bit hyperbolic as Panay talks about the history of the surface. These are good products, but … maybe choose it back a little! He says Microsoft wants to introduce you to a new product "that I believe is the next category". Generate "unlimited flow". Would like to continue to develop innovations for the future in a way that only Microsoft can.

11:03 – He is "super pumped". Panay is definitely in high demand. He says Microsoft "thought they would create the 2-in-1 system" with the original Surface Pro. The goal is to eliminate the conflict between laptop and tablet.

11:02 – Panay is now talking about the future of Surface devices. Is this the much rumored dual-screen surface device? Ready for the "next vacation".

Microsoft Surface October 2019 event live blog: the latest Surface releases live from New York 1

(Credit: Microsoft)

11:01 – Surface Pro X will be available from the 5th of November. Pre-orders start today and start at $ 999. Panay is back and says you should pre-order it. Of course he would say that! But maybe that means that Microsoft expects a lot of orders …

11:00 – Fair Play, Adobe Creative Cloud apps on Surface Pro X look great for digital artists. With the Surface Slim Pen you get 4,096 pressure levels and have an eraser top and back. Adobe Fresco will be & # 39; soon & # 39; started on Surface X. An attempt is made to reproduce the feelings of certain brushes and pens as well as materials such as watercolor and ink.

READ  Fortnite is celebrating Batman Day with a caped crossover event

Microsoft Surface October 2019 event live blog: the latest Surface releases live from New York 2

(Credit: Microsoft)

10:57 – We have a demo for Adobe software and how it can be used with Surface hardware for digital artists. It's nice, but we're still out of breath after the whirlwind that's Panos Panay.

10: 52 – Panay is now getting a bit nervous about the surface pen. It's a bit exhausting to look at him, and even more exhausting when trying to keep up with writing a live blog. I am also a little worried that he has not breathed in for about 5 minutes.

Microsoft Surface October 2019 event live blog: the latest Surface releases live from New York 3

(Credit: Microsoft)

10:50 – Panay is now talking about how the AI ​​engine can help. So you can visually edit live on the fly and change the footage of a live webcam stream so that the person you talk to looks like it's looking directly into the webcam. I'm not sure how important that is to people, but hey, it's interesting.

10:48 – The Surface Pro X offers full Windows 10 support, so you do not have to suffer from Windows 10 S mode. Yes! Microsoft is learning! It is also the first Windows PC to have an integrated AI engine in the SoC / processor.

Microsoft Surface October 2019 event live blog: the latest Surface releases live from New York 4

(Credit: Microsoft)

10:47 – Microsoft and Qualcomm have worked hard to make the SQ1 more powerful than chips in smartphones. It has a power consumption of 7 watts compared to 2 watts for similar mobile chips. And it's three times more powerful per watt than the Surface Pro 6.

Microsoft Surface October 2019 event live blog: the latest Surface releases live from New York 5

(Credit: Microsoft)

10:44 – "It's all about craftsmanship," says Panay, who has re-entered the stage. With a 12-inch case that has the thinnest bezels on all 2-in-1 devices, it weighs only 1.68 pounds.

Other specifications:

1,400: 1 contrast, 2,880 x 1,920 resolution, 267 ppi. Could be a beautiful screen. And always LTE. Thanks to a custom Microsoft SQ1, which is a Snapdragon processor on the ARM platform. Attention Intel, Microsoft has built its own processor! Type of.

10:42 – Now for the Surface Pro X. It is 5.3mm thin, has two USB-C ports, LTE connectivity, a new MSFT SQ1 processor, a PixelSense 13.3-inch edge-to-edge display Surface pen in the device under the display and maybe the best of everything All in all, it has a removable storage!

Microsoft Surface October 2019 event live blog: the latest Surface releases live from New York 6

(Credit: Microsoft)

10:40 – More statistics! Omnisonic sound, charging case, one-click docking with the desktop, touch-based bud-side controls, Office 365 integration. Available this holiday season for $ 249.

10: 39 – As for "magic" – Seiler (and Microsoft) means Office. Hmm, I do not know if this is "magical" for us. Still, there are some cool things, like chatting in the ears and adding subtitles to PowerPoint presentations.

Microsoft Surface October 2019 event live blog: the latest Surface releases live from New York 7

(Credit: Microsoft)

10:37 – Just had a spit roll for the new Surface Earbuds. Really wireless, with a bit of magic. They look a bit ugly. 24 hours battery life, noise reduction and "all-day comfort and stability".

Touch sensors on each earphone to control music and calls. You do not need to use your phone. A few clicks and it can open Spotify and play and control music with gestures. Works on Android and iOS.

READ  Fujifilm X-Pro3: everything we know so far about the upcoming retro rangefinder

Microsoft Surface October 2019 event live blog: the latest Surface releases live from New York 8

(Credit: Microsoft)

10:34 – Surface Pro 7 can be pre-ordered today and costs $ 749. Will be on stores on October 22nd. Apart from that, the details are VERY sparse. I wonder why …

10:33 – Show the popular Your Phone app now. Phone calls to your phone are sent directly to the top of the screen, regardless of which app you use, but it's still exclusive to Samsung phones 🙁 The feature will be available in the coming weeks

10:32 – Robin Seiler is on stage and has announced that Windows 10 Word now supports inline editing with Surface Pen. She explains how she can plan a hike with Surface Pro and Windows. Only used studio microphones (even in Surface Laptop 3) and is used for better voice commands.

Microsoft Surface October 2019 event live blog: the latest Surface releases live from New York 9

(Credit: Microsoft)

10:29 – Now we get a demo of the software that Surface Pro is running. So, Windows 10, Edge, that stuff. We know all this. We want more hardware!

10:27 – You have added USB-C. AFTER ALL! Crowd cheer. We are such geeks. But it is a welcome addition.

10:26 – We're talking about Surface Pro! Surface Pro 7 in depth?

Microsoft Surface October 2019 event live blog: the latest Surface releases live from New York 10

(Credit: Microsoft)

10:24 – Order $ 999 for 13-inch laptops and $ 1,199 for 15-inch laptops.

10:23 – Talk about the battery life now. Something similar to go for cell phones. Fast charging like a smartphone – charges up to 80% of the battery in less than an hour.

10:22 – 15-inch laptop with "AMD Ryzen 7 Surface Edition". Microsoft partnered with AMD, with the fastest graphics performance of any laptop in the 15-inch Ultrabook class specifically designed by Microsoft and AMD. Can apparently play Fortnite. That's pretty impressive.

Microsoft Surface October 2019 event live blog: the latest Surface releases live from New York 11

(Credit: Microsoft)

10:20 – In the picture above you can see how the Surface Laptop 3 can be disassembled …

10:19 – SPECIFIC TIME! Intel Ice Lake quad-core processor. This is the 10th generation. Twice as fast as previous Surface laptop devices. Three times more powerful than the MacBook Air. Oh, they are arguing!

10:18 – Surface Laptop 3 has a modular design and the keyboard tray folds out for easy access to internal components. Could that mean it's easy to fix and update? This is great news as Surface devices have been criticized in the past for not being easy to repair. This is a very welcome step.

Microsoft Surface October 2019 event live blog: the latest Surface releases live from New York 12

(Credit: Microsoft)

10:16 – The keyboard has a key stroke of 1.3 mm and offers a quiet typing experience. Kind! Seems like Microsoft has been thinking a lot about the keyboard. There are still no problems with Apple and the MacBook keyboard …

Microsoft Surface October 2019 event live blog: the latest Surface releases live from New York 13

(Credit: Microsoft)

Microsoft Surface October 2019 event live blog: the latest Surface releases live from New York 14

(Credit: Microsoft)

10:14 – Learn more about Surface Laptop 3 – 20% larger trackpad, aluminum, USB-C connector. AMD Ryzen 7 and AMD Radeon RX Vega 11 graphics. The rumors were true! Microsoft loves AMD.

10:12 – Surface Laptop 3! In a 15-inch format and 13.3-inch, as the rumors suggest.

10:11 – "What you'll hear today are new platforms, new silicone, new form factors." Tell shape factors.

10:10 – He talks about how his daughter makes music on a piano. "It's a great moment, she was in the flow for her, and what she got when she got in." Apparently we all have these moments. "Surface can help to magnify your mind," he says. Hmm.

READ  OnePlus may have just confirmed the OnePlus 7T Pro launch for October 10

Microsoft Surface October 2019 event live blog: the latest Surface releases live from New York 15

(Credit: Microsoft)

10.08 – Panos Panay, Chief Product Officer of Microsoft Devices Group of Microsoft Corporation. is up now. He is always an … interesting presenter. And by "interesting" we mean "quite strange". He talks about musical instruments. Not sure if the crowd follows …

Microsoft Surface October 2019 event live blog: the latest Surface releases live from New York 16

(Credit: Microsoft)

10.03 – Satya Nadella is on stage and gets us in the mood. A nice thank you for the Spectrum, one of his first PCs! And as Nadella, Microsoft's CEO, says, "We want to create experiences that encompass all devices in our lives."

Microsoft Surface October 2019 event live blog: the latest Surface releases live from New York 17

(Image credits: future)

9:54 – And … we are there! Microsoft plays in advance inspiring and inspiring music. Now, Frank Shaw talks about the hordes of die-hard Microsoft fans invited to the keynote.

Microsoft Surface October 2019 event live blog: the latest Surface releases live from New York 18

(Image credits: future)

09:39 – Getting closer…

Microsoft Surface October 2019 event live blog: the latest Surface releases live from New York 19

(Image credits: future)

09:33 – Were in! And there is a small queue. The venue is filling up fast – there's clearly a lot of interest in what Microsoft will show today. Can Microsoft deliver? We do not have to wait much longer …

Microsoft Surface October 2019 event live blog: the latest Surface releases live from New York 20

(Image credits: future)

08:45 – We wait in line to attend the event and we are told that it will be at least 9am before we can sit down. Luckily the weather is beautiful out here.

07:30 – As the start time for the Microsoft event in October 2019 is approaching, we are on our way to the venue in New York City. We will post some nice pictures when we get there. What are the other rumors pointing to what we could see today? We've heard a lot about a dual screen surface device codenamed "Centaurus" and it seems increasingly likely that we can catch a glimpse of it at the event. A recent rumor seems to prove that, with Windows 10X, a version of Windows 10 for dual-screen devices that appears later …

Microsoft Surface October 2019 event live blog: the latest Surface releases live from New York 21

(Photo credits: Evan Blass)

06:16 – And here's a leaked image that supposedly flaunts the Surface Laptop 3. Again, this is quite convincing and shows that Microsoft is not too far removed from previous models – at least in the optics department. However, according to rumors, Microsoft could offer a choice of Intel or AMD processors. Intel once had a monopoly when it comes to brainwave Surface devices. So this step is pretty advanced – if it is correct.

Microsoft Surface October 2019 event live blog: the latest Surface releases live from New York 22

(Photo credits: Evan Blass)

05:38 – This is one of the images that leaked yesterday and the Surface Pro 7 seems to be showing. It definitely looks plausible – and we'll find out in a few hours if it's up to the money.

05:36 – So what can we expect from today's October 2019 event? It looks like many surprises have been spoiled by Microsoft when a particularly large cache of images has been leaked to the Internet that seems to confirm that Surface Pro 7 and Surface Laptop 3 actually exist. It's also likely that Microsoft is launching an ARM powered Surface Pro 7. This could lead to a longer battery life than a Surface Pro with an Intel processor.

05.03 – Today is the big day for Microsoft as it prepares to host its event later in October 2019. It is great early in New York City – but we're excited to bring you the latest news about what Microsoft has in store. In addition, the British team is currently handling live blogs, and it's 10:03 here.

Spread the good stuff:
This post contains affiliate links, to find out more information, please read our disclaimer.
The price written on this page is true as the time it is written. It may change at any moment.

Related Posts